Premier Congratulates Nova Scotia Curlers

first_imgPremier Stephen McNeil offered congratulations today, April 4, to Colleen Jones and her Nova Scotia rink on winning the Canadian Senior Women’s Curling Championship this weekend. Jones and teammates Kim Kelly, Mary Sue Radford and Nancy Delahunt won the title in Digby on Saturday, April 2, beating Saskatchewan 5-2 in the final. “Nova Scotians are proud once again to be home to a national curling champion,” Premier McNeil said. “Congratulations to Colleen and her teammates, who have added another title to their impressive collection.” Jones, Kelly and Delahunt have won five Canadian women’s championships and two world titles, but this is their first senior victory. Premier McNeil also applauded Alan O’Leary’s bronze medal effort in the Canadian senior men’s event. The Nova Scotia rink, which also included Andy Dauphinee, Danny Christianson and Harold McCarthy beat British Columbia 7-5 for the third-place finish. The medal results added to the glitter of this curling playoff season for Nova Scotia curlers. Last month, Chester’s Mary Fay led her rink to the World Junior Women’s Curling Championship after winning the Canadian title in January.last_img

Leave a Reply

(*) Required, Your email will not be published