Who Wears the Crown as Africa’s Best Tonight?

first_imgDuro Ikhazuagbe with agency reportDespite the absence of any Nigerian player in the most prized category of the Glo-CAF Awards, Abuja is already feeling the buzz of the silver jubilee edition of the continent’s football Oscars taking place at the International Conference Centre.Winner of the Africa’s Best Player of the Year 2016, Gabon and Borussia Dortmund forward, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, has two challengers for the coveted crown in Leicester City of England and Algeria player, Riyad Mahrez and Senegal and Liverpool attacking midfielder, Sadio Mane.With the Confederation of African Football (CAF) and West Africa’s leading telecommunication company and title sponsor of the event, Globacom, throwing in everything to make this 25th edition of Glo-CAF Awards a grand event, it promises to be a night to remember in Abuja. Globacom has been sponsoring the Glo-CAF Awards since 2005. Already, top sports administrators, special guests and government functionaries from different parts of Africa and beyond have converged on the capital city for the ceremony.CAF President, Mr. Isa Hayatou and his delegation have already arrived Abuja for the event which will be covered live by global media.All the three top nominees for African player of the year award have already confirmed their attendance. Similarly, all the nominees in other categories are delighted to be rated among the best footballers in the continent.About two weeks ago, CAF pruned down the final list to three players for the awards.Other categories also include African Player of The Year (Based in Africa), National Team of The Year, Club of The Year, and Coach of The Year.Other categories are Women’s National Team of The Year, Women’s Footballer of The Year, Most Promising Talent, Referee of The Year, Legend of The year, Fair Play Award, Platinum Award (which has only one nominee), and Africa Finest XI.From 1992 to 2015, from Ghana’s Abedi Pele to Gabonese Aubameyang, 15 players have laid claim to the most prestigious individual honour in African football.Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o was the first to be crowned on four occasions – 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2010; a record since equalled by Toure, who made it four on the trot (2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014). Former Senegal forward, El Hadji Diouf won the award twice in a row; 2001 and 2002.However, the first player to have been named CAF African Player of the Year on two occasions was ex-Nigeria captain, Nwankwo Kanu, in 1996 and 1999 before Ivorian Didier Drogba replicated the feat in 2006 and 2009.Winners of the prestigious honour have come from either the midfield or attack; and that tradition will be respected yet again this time, with the three contenders being attackers.In addition, the 15 players to have been decorated since 1992, have and continue to remain amongst the foremost African ambassadors of the world’s most popular sport.There are also several others who were so near and yet so far, including Ivorian goalkeeper Alain Gouamene in 1992; Moroccan defender Noureddine Naybet (sixth in 1993); Nigerian Daniel Amokachi, who regularly featured among the top ten (10) whilst Chadian Japhet N’Doram was virtually handicapped by the non-presence of his national team at the final phase of a major continental championship.South African defender, Mark Fish also settled for sixth position in 1996. Ghanaian defender Samuel Kuffour narrowly missed out on two occasions, 1999 and 2001.Others are Michael Essien of Ghana, who made the final three an unprecedented five times in a row – 2005 (third), 2006 (third), 2007 (second), 2008 (third) and 2009 (third); Asamoah Gyan, also from Ghana, 2010 (second); Andre Ayew (Ghana), 2011 (third) & 2015 (third) and Malian Seydou Keita, 2011 (second). So are Nigerian duo, John Mikel Obi and Vincent Enyeama, who finished second and third in 2013 and 2014 respectively.When the roll call for the laureates is launched, there is one noticeable observation. Cote d’Ivoire is the country which has the biggest number of triumphs, six in total, Toure (four) and Drogba (two); followed by Nigeria on five titles, two for Kanu, one each for Emmanuel Amuneke, Rashidi Yekini and Victor Ikpeba.Patrick Mboma won it once coupled with Eto’o’s four also gives Cameroon five titles. Diouf is responsible for the only two titles in the name of Senegal. One-time winners include Ghana – Abedi Pele, Liberia – George Weah (the only African player to have been crowned FIFA World Footballer of the Year), Morocco – Mustapha Hadji, Mali – Frederic Kanoute and Togo – Emmanuel Adebayor and Aubameyang on the ticket of Gabon.Another common feature is that all winners plied their trade in Europe at the time of their coronation.For the last decade, the Awards Gala has been sponsored by Cellular Telecommunications outfit, Globacom, who have raised the bar of excellence with splendid ceremonies in cities such as Abuja, Accra, Lome, Lagos and Cairo.This year, the Gala will take place for the third time in Abuja. The Nigerian capital hosted for the first time in 2004 and lately the 2015 edition.PAST WINNERS1992 Abedi AYEW PELE (Ghana)1993 Rashidi YEKINI (Nigeria)1994 Emmanuel AMUNEKE (Nigeria)1995 George WEAH (Liberia)1996 Nwankwo KANU (Nigeria)1997 Victor IKPEBA (Nigeria)1998 Mustapha HADJI (Morocco)1999 Nwankwo KANU (Nigeria)2000 Patrick MBOMA (Cameroon)2001 El-Hadji DIOUF (Senegal)2002 El Hadji DIOUF (Senegal)2003 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)2004 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)2005 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)2006 Didier DROGBA (Côte d’Ivoire)2007 Frederic KANOUTE (Mali)2008 Emmanuel ADEBAYOR (Togo)2009 Didier DROGBA (Côte d’Ivoire)2010 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)2011 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)2012 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)2013 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)2014 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)2015 Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon)Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegramlast_img

Leave a Reply

(*) Required, Your email will not be published