Clark County seeks to fill Gorge commission seat

first_imgClark County is accepting applications to fill a vacancy on the Columbia River Gorge Commission, which oversees the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area.There are 13 commissioner seats, with Washington and Oregon governors appointing three commissioners each to represent their state, and each of the six counties in the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area appoint one of their own.The counties are Clark, Skamania and Klickitat, and Wasco, Hood River and Multnomah in Oregon. The Secretary of Agriculture appoints one nonvoting commissioner.The commission works with the U.S. Forest Service to implement the scenic area’s management plan and serves as an appellate body for land use decisions in the scenic area. It oversees a bi-state agency with six full-time staff, in White Salmon.The appointment for Clark County’s seat goes from July 1 through June 30, 2023. Commissioners serve four-year terms, to a maximum of two consecutive terms.The commission meets the second Tuesday of each month at different locations throughout the Gorge.Applicants should submit a letter of interest and resume to Alyssa Weyhrauch, County Manager’s Office, P.O. Box 5000, Vancouver, WA 98666-5000, or to [email protected] are due by 5 p.m. April 26.last_img read more

Read More →